Welcome to
GSWired Official Forum
You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to our website. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics and responses, communicate privately with others, upload and view content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free.
::::: Enjoy Staying! ::::: :hiface:


 
HomeFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Windows XP Truefaster V5
Thu May 02, 2013 3:47 am by shadowmode

» Events
Sun Mar 24, 2013 11:53 am by Alvintobi

» newbie
Mon Dec 17, 2012 9:02 pm by ___spike___

» hallow
Sat Aug 04, 2012 1:32 am by ___spike___

» new born here
Fri Jun 01, 2012 3:50 pm by ___spike___

» KNOW YOUR JAPANESE NAME
Mon May 21, 2012 7:33 pm by Alcris John Bicada

» PointBlank Ph
Tue Apr 03, 2012 9:35 pm by ___spike___

» Dota 2
Tue Mar 06, 2012 1:15 am by kenyak22

» Good bye AMD?
Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:34 am by DISSA

» Dirt 3-SKIDROW
Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:24 pm by ___spike___

» Battlefield 3 GPU test
Sat Nov 19, 2011 1:16 am by DISSA

» LOL mw3 truck robbed
Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:33 am by kenyak22

» FT>> STRAIGHT SWAP 9800GT na walay PCI-e recquired...
Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:26 pm by kenyak22

» FS: Sapphire Radeon 6870 (non-reference)
Sun Oct 09, 2011 5:49 pm by kenyak22

» Why intel and why amd
Mon Sep 19, 2011 6:40 pm by DISSA

» QS-202 Review
Mon Sep 19, 2011 11:16 am by kenyak22

» GSwired Tshirt the Final One v2
Mon Sep 19, 2011 1:53 am by lithgow

» ___Spike___ Chatters Rig
Fri Sep 09, 2011 9:07 pm by ___spike___

» 2011 White Pearl
Fri Sep 09, 2011 12:50 pm by DISSA

» "RIGS GALLERY" Official Thread
Sat Sep 03, 2011 1:06 pm by kenyak22

Statistics
We have 219 registered users
The newest registered user is AndraxZ

Our users have posted a total of 4908 messages in 602 subjects
Top posters
DISSA
 
Tambutsoo
 
kenyak22
 
louiealad
 
GSW LoDA
 
angelix000000
 
w0wski
 
___spike___
 
iczp
 
__mrs. spike__
 
Advertise With Us
________________
Partner’s site

 

 QS-202 Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Author Message
DISSA

avatar

Posts : 893
Join date : 2009-07-04

PostSubject: QS-202 Review    Sat Sep 10, 2011 6:06 pm

update 09/19/2011 at 12:12 am - pics are up. removed the packaging section as i was unable to secure some pics...sorry... Sad

(author's note: the QS-202 has been around for several months now but can't find any reviews on google other than forum discussions, so i decided to write one myself)


AeroCool QS-202 MicroATX case review


1. Introduction
2. Specifications
3. Exterior
4. Interior
5. Assembly
6. My Impression
7. Conclusion



Introduction
It was at a LAN party/PC exhibit a year ago that I decided to go small. Compact micro and mini ITX cases are easy to carry when you are traveling to a LAN party venue or when you just want to bring your system somewhere else. Most of these cases are not as flashy like their midtower or fulltower counterparts but their appeal lies in their portability. Nearly every manufacturer has their own line of small form factor cases nowadays. AeroCool introduced the QS-200 sometime last year, a design that bears resemblance to Cooler Master's Elite 341. This year, AeroCool introduces the QS-202, sporting a new look and a more modern bottom-mounted PSU layout.

manufacturer pic:


Specifications
Case Type - Middle Tower
Material - SECC 0.6mm
Motherboards - Micro ATX
Chassis Dimensions - 378(H) x 200(W) x 470(D)
Drive Bays - 2 x 5.25" (External) / 1 x 3.5" (w/adaptor) / 2 x 2.5” HDD (w/HDD tray) / 6 x 3.5" HDDs (internal)
Expansion Slots - 4 Slots
Max length space available for PCI slots - 270mm / 390mm(middle HDD cage removed)
I/O Ports - 2 x USB2.0 / Mic & headphone (AC97 & HD audio)
Fans - front 140 mm (included), rear 120 mm (included) top 120 mm/1400 mm (optional), acrylic side panel 120 mm (optional)


Exterior
The front panel consists of a sheet of steel mesh attached to a plastic bezel. The two 5.25 inch bay covers are also made of the same steel mesh. A thin sheet of foam is sandwiched between the steel mesh and the plastic frame. This acts as a filter. There are chevron-like cutouts arranged to form a circle to feed air to the 140 mm fan behind.


we can see the 140 mm fan upon removing the front panel.


The left side panel sports an acrylic window. This 3 mm sheet of acrylic has pre-drilled holes to allow installation of a 120mm fan. (A standard, 25 mm thick fan might get in the way with some internal components such as a tower HSF or a 120 mm radiator mounted on the rear exhaust.)



The right side panel is just a plain steel sheet. Nothing fancy. (except for some fingerprints lol)


Thumbscrews on both panels have plastic heads (not in picture) and two plastic "mini tow hooks" (lol) so you won't get jolted by the electric current while pulling the side panels off while your system is plugged in and running.



The top features a fan slot that accepts both a 140 mm and a 120 mm fan. This is fitted with a 120 mm filter held in place by removable plastic rivets. Near the front are two standard USB 2.0 ports and audio in/out jacks.


On the bottom, you have the PSU intake vent covered by a removable filter. There are four plastic feet.


Interior
The motherboard tray, expansion slot covers, and the removable HDD rack are all painted blue. There is also a huge CPU cutout on the motherboard tray and cable management holes fitted with rubber grommets (these grommets easily come off though). There are also 2 pre-drilled holes fitted with grommets in case you want to mount a radiator externally. Above the CPU cutout are two more holes so you can thread cables through, such as an 8 or 4-pin power cable.



The space between the motherboard and the right side panel is around 20 mm, more than enough space to hide your cables.


The HDD rack and 5.25 inch optical drive bays are tool-less. A removable HDD rack allows installation of ultra-high end graphics cards such as a 6990. Expansion slot devices are secured via thumbscrews.




Assembly and finished look





My Impression
I used to own an NZXT Vulcan. I loved that case. It is compact and sports a handle, making it easy to carry during a LAN party or an exhibit at the mall. The Vulcan lacked cable management features. It was a mess behind the motherboard tray. The QS-202 answered two things that bugged me with the Vulcan: First one is cable management. 20 mm of space makes it easy to pull cables into a bundle and secure them using zip ties. Second is the 120 mm rear fan slot which made it possible for me to mount the 120 mm radiator of the Antec Kuhler H2O 620.

But the QS-202 is not without flaws. I find the chevron-like cutouts on the front panel a bit awkward. I also dislike the use of a thin sheet of foam as a dust filter. And to clean it, you have to loosen the steel mesh sheet off the plastic frame so you can access the foam sheet. I think this is expected on a case of this price range (see below). Big CPU coolers such as the Cooler Master V6GT may press against the acrylic. However, the acrylic is easy to detach thanks to the plastic rivets, making it possible to mount it on the outside so you can put the side panel on without the acrylic making contact with the CPU cooler. (thanks artu Smile )

What the front panel looks like when i removed the thin layer of foam:




Conclusion
Placed between the Php. 3,000 to 4,000 price range and laden with features found in bigger and flashier cases, the AeroCool QS-202 is perfect for those looking for a good case but on a tight budget. Overall, it's a very solid case and should be on anyone's list when planning a microATX build.

Pros
-Nice blue interior
-Almost tool-free assemble (thumbscrews on the expansion slots need a screwdriver to tighten)
-Ample space for most tower HSFs in a microATX case
-Filters installed on the top and PSU vent
-Capable of holding up to six 3.5" HDDs
-Acrylic window
-Price

Cons
-Front panel intake could use some redesigning
-Front panel audio connector is a bit short
-No USB 3.0

(thanks to: BlinQue, DCWired, GSWired)


Last edited by DISSA on Wed Sep 21, 2011 5:39 am; edited 4 times in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
kenyak22

avatar

Posts : 463
Join date : 2010-07-09
Age : 32
Location : Desktop.ini

PostSubject: Re: QS-202 Review    Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:31 pm

very nice review diss...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
kenyak22

avatar

Posts : 463
Join date : 2010-07-09
Age : 32
Location : Desktop.ini

PostSubject: Re: QS-202 Review    Mon Sep 19, 2011 11:16 am

pabooked ko pre kay coming na sa blinque ang fractal.... ingna lng ko kung mag change case ka.... XD hahahahah....
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: QS-202 Review    

Back to top Go down
 

QS-202 Review

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum: You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 :: PC Modding/Overclocking :: General PC Modding Discussions -
Copyright © 2009 - 2012 General Santos Wired Official Forum
General Santos City, Philippines.
Hosted by Forumotion

Powered by © phpBB

All rights reserved.
Free forum | © phpBB | Free forum support | Contact | Report an abuse | Free forum